njcas.blogg.se

Mac era usb stick could not unmount disk
Mac era usb stick could not unmount disk












mac era usb stick could not unmount disk

When OS X can’t connect to your Time Machine backup server, the operating system does local backups. To enable it, use the same command, but replace “off” with “on” instead. Found this post with details on how to do it. On my machine, I’ve disabled Spotlight altogether. If you don’t need to do Spotlight searches on that disk, you can add the drive to the ignore list in the Spotlight settings under System Settings. But now when I surf the web or write, I no longer have to listen to the sound of the disk. I have a lot of links for stuff like the download folder, Final Cut Pro settings, buffers for applications and all my photos on the extra disk so naturally, the additional disc will start when using applications using these files. Disable the S.M.A.R.T check of the drive. There’s a way to get iStat Menu without the disk continually waking from sleep. Update: Thanks to one of my readers Hextor for finding this. I love iStat Menu, so that felt a bit sad, but until they fix this, it will be turned off. I checked the settings for iStat Menu, and the disk info part was disabled, but it still accessed the disk. I continued to look for applications or processes that accessed my disk, and one of them was iStat Menu. To deactivate the logging, just enter the following: The first thing I noticed was that fseventsd was logging information to the external disk. Look at the right column for stuff that might have activated the disk. When the disk wakes up, press ctrl-c to stop. Sudo fs_usage | grep name_of_volumeĮnter your login password. Replace name_of_volume with the name of your disk. For example, let’s say the volume name is Macintosh HD, you need to use If the volume name contains spaces, you need to add \ before every space character. The command will show you the name of your connected volumes. Otherwise, you’re going to get a LOT of additional output. To narrow the output, I used grep to just show events and access to the extra disk. To find the applications that were accessing the volume, I opened the terminal application and started to observe the output of the following terminal command. Replace -a with -b for changing the setting when on battery power. The command will set the time for sleep to one minute when using an AC adapter. I set the value before sleep to one minute, so I don’t have to wait long between tests.

mac era usb stick could not unmount disk

Here’s what I did to fix that problem.įirst of all, I needed to change the time before the disk went to sleep. The extra disk went to sleep when not in use, but then started within a couple of minutes or less.

mac era usb stick could not unmount disk mac era usb stick could not unmount disk

At the same time, I removed the DVD unit and installed a new 500gb drive instead. I replaced my internal drive on my MacBook Pro with an SSD disk, which made a massive difference in speed. My internal hard disk would continuously spin on my MacBook Pro and never goes to sleep.














Mac era usb stick could not unmount disk